personal

2017 (looking ahead + goals)

Twenty seventeen is already shaping up to be an eventful year.

First off, we have at least 8 weddings to attend (possibly more). And since one of the weddings will be in Boston, we’ll be taking advantage of the short flight to New York and visiting the City right after.

In addition to our Boston/New York trip, we also want to travel in the Spring – perhaps an Alaskan cruise or a trip to Europe. And because we had such a great time celebrating our one year anniversary in the Bahamas, we’ll either go back again for our two year anniversary or visit another tropical island – Turks and Caicos, maybe.

Aside from weddings and trips, we also have new condo issues to deal with. We’re still in the renovation process, which is projected to be done at the end of March (hopefully sooner). Once it’s almost done, we’ll have to start looking for a tenant. Our intention is to move in eventually (most likely when we have kids). But we’re renting it out for the time being to save money. And frankly, we just don’t need the space. Our current 480 sq. ft. studio is perfect for our current needs and lifestyle. The thought of moving into an 1,800 sq. ft. 3-bedroom condo actually overwhelms me!

With the new year comes new goals. I used to focus on habit changing goals like exercising more and drinking more water. But I find goals like that to be way too vague and difficult to track/quantify. So now I make what I like to call “one time goals” – goals that you only really need to achieve maybe once in your lifetime.

For instance, last year, I made it my goal to finally complete my citizenship application. I had been a permanent resident for 20 years and was eligible to apply for citizenship the last 15 years. My mom never got around to it when I was younger and when I became an adult, other things took priority (finishing college, getting a job, getting married, etc.). After the wedding and honeymoon was over, I decided it was time to finally get this thing done once and for all and 2016 was going to be the year. (This was accomplished back in May!)

For 2017, one of my goals is to finally post that studio apartment tour video I’ve been working on.

Another goal is to scan all printed photographs that don’t have digital copies. So pretty much all photos prior to college. The thought of losing all my childhood photographs, especially the ones with my parents, to a fire or earthquake gives me a lot of anxiety. I know I will feel a lot better when I have a scanned copy of every photo as backup :).

What are some of your goals for 2017?

One thought on “2017 (looking ahead + goals)

Leave a Reply

