decluttering

$0 white elephant gift exchange

This year, one of my friends proposed a brilliant idea for our group’s white elephant gift exchange: $0 spending limit – bring something(s) you already have in your home that’s either new or gently used.

As a sucker for any excuse to declutter, this idea got me really excited!

Here’s what I ended up bringing as my gift:

  • a white desktop file (similar to this one) with file folders
  • a perpetual calendar
  • an insulated water bottle
  • a cookbook
  • some unused black balloons

And here’s what I ended up with:

  • 2 bottles of white wine
  • several snacks including a box of Turkish delights
  • a shoe cleaner
  • sage
  • men’s deodorant

I kept one bottle of wine and the deodorant (for my husband) and gave away everything else.

This turned out to be one of the most successful gift exchanges I’ve ever participated in because 1) everyone had a good laugh seeing what kind of clutter everyone else was trying to get rid of 2) a lot of people ended up getting something they could use (one man’s trash is another man’s treasure, right?) and 3) no one had to spend any money!

I will definitely be proposing this $0 spending limit idea for all future gift exchanges.

Leave a Reply

