beauty

beauty & skincare staples

I’ve noticed that whenever I find a staple for a product, I am less tempted to impulsively buy something new to try (or jump on free samples and gift with purchases).

Here are some examples:

Since I have eczema/psoriasis (my dermatologist can’t tell which one it is) on my legs and elbows, I started using CeraVe as my daily body lotion.  And now, regardless of how pretty or delicious another moisturizer looks and smells, I know CeraVe is the most effective for my skin so I don’t bother with purchasing anything else.

For my hair, I’ve been using Jose Maran’s argan oil for a few years now.  Since it does a fantastic job of keeping my frizzy hair at bay, I stopped purchasing other hair serums.  I also recently started applying argan oil to my face and around my eyes after my evening showers in lieu of night cream and eye cream.  Argan oil works just as effectively as those creams but it’s much healthier for my skin.  One way I can tell (besides the long list of ingredients I can’t pronounce in those creams) is when I first switched back to night cream, I felt a mild stinging sensation on my skin.  And when I would accidentally rub my eyes with eye cream on, my eyes would get extremely irritated, becoming all red and itchy.  When I only have argan oil around my eyes, I can rub it all I want and it doesn’t get irritated.  So going forward, I will no longer be purchasing night creams and eye creams.

After trying this, this and this mascara, I think the Too Faced mascara will be my official mascara.  None of the other vegan, cruelty free mascaras have been able to provide the same volume as this one.

Some other products I repurchase regularly but don’t know if I like them enough to call them “staples”:

5 thoughts on “beauty & skincare staples

  1. Well said! I’ve not heard anyone explain it that way before but it’s just how I live too! A friend of mine marvels at how few products I need to use to get ready. I use a sulfate-free shampoo and conditioner that smells amazing (coconut!) and when I was in the pool four days a week, no stylist even knew I had been in the pool. So once I found a product like that, I kept using it. I break out on my face if I use makeup I’m allergic to, so I carefully find something I can use and I don’t stray from it.

    My shower holds: one shampoo, one conditioner, one hair product, a comb, and soap.
    My makeup bag holds: one bottle of foundation, one lip balm, one lipstick, an eyeshadow, an eyeliner and one mascara (still looking for the best mascara for my pale, barely there lashes).

    Found your blog via Miss Minimalist and can’t wait to read more of your writing!

    Like

    1. Thank you for your comment, Sunny! What shampoo and conditioner do you use? I would definitely recommend trying the Too Faced Better Than Sex mascara for your lashes! You can buy the travel-sized one ($12) first to see if you like it before committing to a full-sized one ($23).

      Like

  2. I love that feeling when you find your ‘miracle’ product and don’t need to keep on looking for the perfect one. I’m on the lookout for a natural face oil that won’t break out my skin. I’ve been using Baobab oil which is ok, but I’ve heard that Hemp Seed Oil is non-comedogenic so I might try that, or maybe Argan oil as you say you’ve had good results!

    Like

    1. Hi Sahel! Yes, I would definitely recommend trying Argan oil! Just be careful as not all Argan oils are created equal. I’ve only used Josie Maran’s Argan oil because it contains only one ingredient. I hope it works out for you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

