food

green juice

{green juice}
{green juice}

I love having green juice in the morning.  Before I got married, it was part of my morning routine.  But now that I’ve adopted my husband’s night-owl tendencies, I’ve been struggling with waking up early enough to make it before work.  Luckily, I found a solution that’s been working out pretty well.

Instead of making green juice in the morning, I make it at night, typically before I shower.  So I guess you could say it’s part of my night routine now.  I pour our green juice into insulated containers that my father-in-law bought for us.  I like it better than keeping it in the fridge in a mason jar because our insulated containers aren’t cold to the touch and don’t get everything wet with condensation.  Plus, I feel like the insulated containers keep it fresher.

Here’s a typical list of ingredients I use:

  • two or three handfuls of mixed greens (spinach, kale and chard) – I like Power to the Greens from Trader Joe’s
  • one or half of a fresh or frozen banana
  • a small handful of frozen mango chunks
  • a small handful of frozen pineapple chunks
  • a cup of coconut water – I like the brand Zico, which you can buy in bulk at Costco for a lot cheaper than the grocery store

I will make adjustments depending on how I feel (i.e. more greens if I want it to taste less sweet, less coconut water for a thicker texture, etc.).

Since I don’t really eat breakfast, the green juice has done a pretty good job of keeping me full until lunch time.  Another thing I’ve noticed is that I stopped drinking coffee every morning because it takes me a while to finish the green juice and by the time I’m done, either the coffee is all gone or cold.  And I’m usually too lazy to make a fresh pot just for myself.

Tip: Use frozen fruits in lieu of ice so the flavor doesn’t get diluted!

Leave a Reply

