food

first time cooking Japanese curry

I bought this curry mix shortly after we got married because I heard curry was easy to make and you could eat it for multiple meals.  When James saw the mix sitting on our kitchen counter, he told me he didn’t like Japanese curry.  How did I not know this after 8 years together?!  So for the past 8 months, that curry mix has just been sitting in the back of our kitchen cabinet.  Until last night…

James told me I didn’t need to pack him lunch for today cause he still had leftovers so I only needed to pack lunch for myself.  We had extra rice from Monday sitting in the fridge so I decided it would be the perfect time to finally use that curry mix.  We went to Vons to pick up carrots, cauliflower and a potato and I used this YouTube video as my guide.

I was pretty pleased with the results.  The only thing I would change for next time is I wouldn’t boil the veggies for so long before adding in the curry mix and I would cut the carrots a little smaller so it cooks at the same rate as the cauliflower.  I would also use only half the box cause now I’m going to have to eat curry for several meals by myself this week so it doesn’t go to waste.

Leave a Reply

