personal

shopping update

It’s been officially over a year since I’ve shopped at Forever 21.  My last purchase was on July 11, 2015.  I bought a top, which coincidentally, I’m wearing today!

It’s funny because I didn’t even set a specific goal for myself of “not buying anything from Forever 21 for one year”.  I think the more I learned about the damaging effects of fast-fashion, the less I felt inclined to shop at stores that were notorious for it (Forever 21, H&M, Zara, etc.).

Nowadays, I buy most of my clothes from Marshalls and thredUP.  I’ll occasionally buy items from Madewell and J.Crew but I try to buy those brands secondhand first.

The result of not shopping at fast-fashion stores for about a year is a smaller (much, MUCH smaller) but better selection of clothes to choose from every day.  I always feel like I have something to wear and everything I wear is comfortable and flattering, which is how all our clothes should be – don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

