decluttering

decluttering unmentionables

A category that almost never crosses my mind when I’m thinking about what to declutter is my unmentionables (read: bras and undies).  I think it’s because 1) it’s a category that isn’t talked about much.  When you’re on Apartment Therapy or Unclutterer, you’ll find a plethora of posts about decluttering your clothes, papers, books, etc. but rarely does it ever say, “throw away underwear that you haven’t worn in 2 years because you don’t think it’s pretty.”  2) unmentionables will always be useful in the technical sense.  And 3) they take up relatively little space compared to say, shoes.  So decluttering undergarments doesn’t seem like it’d make much of a difference, at least not in the physical sense.

I don’t know what got into me but a few months ago, I started decluttering them.

Underwear was the easy part.  If I see a hole or stain, into the trash it goes.  Bras, however, were much more difficult to part with.  Mainly because a lot of them were pretty expensive (the average Victoria’s Secret bra costs about $50!).  So even though a lot of my bras were uncomfortable, unflattering or just hard to wear with anything, I kept them because I couldn’t stomach “wasting” so much money tossing them.  But!  Recently, I found myself a guilt-free way to get rid of them.  During the most recent semi-annual VS sale, one of my friends went bra shopping and got her bust measured by a sales associate.  She happily discovered that she had been wearing the wrong size.  After hearing this, I decided to get my bust measured and as it turns out, I was wearing the wrong size too!

I bought my first correct-size bra that same day and started tossing my old ones.  What better excuse to get rid of them than the fact that they’re the wrong size?  I haven’t toss all of them yet because some of them I like and others, I’ll need to buy a replacement first (i.e. strapless and nude colored).

When was the last time you decluttered your unmentionables?

Leave a Reply

