personal

morning walk

Last night, my roommate and I agreed to wake up a little earlier today to take a morning walk before work.  I naturally woke up 5 minutes before my alarm went off.  Instead of laying there with my eyes closed for 5 more minutes (and run the risk of feeling sleepy thanks to the start of a new REM cycle), I decided to get my brain going by reading a quick daily devotional.

Fifteen minutes later, my roommate and I were out the door, headed to our local Starbucks.  The time it took us to walk to Starbucks, order, get our drinks and walk back to our apartment was roughly 30 minutes – just the amount of time we were aiming to walk for.

It’s been said many times that how you start your day dictates the tone for the rest of your day.  And today, at least so far, that phrase is ringing true.  A few things I’ve done this morning that were out of the ordinary include curling my hair, taking out my trash and taking both flights of stairs at work.

How did you start your day today?

One thought on “morning walk

Leave a Reply

