zero waste

plastic

Watching this trailer and reading up on some of the issues about plastic on Bag It’s website renews my motivation to curb my plastic consumption.  One small change I’ve made recently is not using plastic utensils at the office.  It’s by no means a difficult change but it does take some conscious effort.  I still frequently catch myself grabbing the plastic fork before putting it back for the metal one.  By the end of the day, sometimes I’ll have 2 or 3 utensils at my desk because I haven’t gotten in the habit of washing them right after I’m done with them just yet.

On a separate but related note, I’m loving the fact that grocery stores like Trader Joe’s are starting to charge for bags (even their paper ones!).  It’s funny how 10 cents will make the difference between going back to my car to get my reusable canvas bags or shrugging and saying I’ll just use it “next time”.  Now I just need to start getting used to carrying my Baggu in my purse at all times for all those spontaneous purchases.

Leave a Reply

