personal

Special Occasions & New Dresses

I went to a wedding last night wearing a dress I bought 8 months ago from a second-hand store.  Even though the dress wasn’t “new”, it was still the first time I had worn it.  So not that impressive.

However, for my birthday this year, I decided against buying a new dress.  The few dresses I have in mind to wear that day have all been worn on at least one other special occasion (a previous birthday, someone else’s birthday, etc.).  If I’m being completely honest, I did buy one a few months ago but I returned it shortly after because the color and fit wasn’t what I expected.  I had purchased it online.  Since that return, I’ve been intentionally staying away from Forever 21, Zara, H&M and any store that might tempt me with their pretty and affordable options.

I’m well aware that there are plenty of women out there who don’t feel the need to buy a new dress for every special occasion.  But I also know a lot of women who do – myself being one of them.  So deciding against it for two occasions in a row is a mini milestone for me.  I hope this habit continues since I have plenty of cute dresses that could use a lot more face time.

Leave a Reply

