Uncategorized

Peace

Miss Minimalist captures exactly how I would want to feel if I were ever to get robbed in this post.

Having my stuff stolen is actually something I think about a lot since I’ve had to share a dorm, room or apartment since college and often with someone I don’t know.  I’ve been blessed with some of the best roommates (for the most part) so I haven’t had any problems with any of my roommates stealing my stuff.  Nor have I ever experienced a break-in.  PTL!  Though I have experienced roommates using my stuff without asking and then not even having the common sense to put it back in its original decent condition.  That was no fun.

Anyway, I may never feel as at peace with getting my stuff stolen as Miss Minimalist because 1) I do like owning several nice things of value that I don’t carry with me at all times and 2) I give most of my purchases careful consideration, which results in me having an attachment to them.  However, I can minimize the amount of stuff I have (something that I’ve been doing on an ongoing basis) and weaken my attachment to them by pouring significantly more of my resources (time, money, energy) into other people, experiences and furthering His kingdom.

19 “Do not store up for yourselves treasures on earth, where moths and vermin destroy, and where thieves break in and steal. 20 But store up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where moths and vermin do not destroy, and where thieves do not break in and steal. 21 For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also. – Matthew 6:19-21

Leave a Reply

