Uncategorized

Contentment

The stick I made for measuring
I used most every day.
It helped me to compare myself
with others on my way.
I watched all those behind me,
or further down the road,
and I would readjust my pace
or lighten up my load.
The only real drawback
with how I ran my race
was watching everything around,
except my Savior’s face.

– Anne Peterson

(a good article on contentment written by the same author)

I wish contentment wasn’t so elusive.

I know I should be content, always.  It’s never a question of why, but a question of how.  How can I be content more often?

When I read this line from here:

“… and I realized how once again I have been focusing on MY perceived needs, MY feelings, MY desires to determine how my life ought to go.  When will I ever learn?”,

I realized that reading the Word and filling my head with truth is only half of the equation because my focus is still on myself.  I’m reading the Word hoping it will fill my needs.  I may be wrong but I think the other half of the equation is to focus on others and how I can meet their needs.  You know what they say, it’s better to give than to receive.  I’m sure it’s no coincidence that contentment is tied to focusing less on yourself and more on others.  Cause isn’t that exactly what our Savior did?  And wasn’t He was the most content of all?

So that’s what I want to try my best to do.  Follow His example and focus more on others.

I am not saying this because I am in need, for I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.  I know what it is to be in need, and I know what it is to have plenty.  I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.  I can do all this through him who gives me strength.

– Philippians 4:11-13

Leave a Reply

