home

Redecorating My Room

Reading a bunch of design blogs, especially this one, as of late has gotten me really in the mood to redecorate my room at the apartment.

Here are a couple of things I’ve done so far:

1) Replaced my Hello Kitty lamp {a Valentine’s Day gift from James a couple years ago} with a new lamp {from Ikea}:

Before:

photo1

After:

photo2

photo3

Overall, I’m pretty happy with the change.  But I’m not going to lie…the lamp looks so much cuter on the Ikea website:

photo

2) Switched out the hot pink chair {free from my college roommate, which she bought from Ikea} for a clear, acrylic-type chair {also from Ikea}:

Before:

photo

After:

photo1

I love the new chair because 1) it takes up less visual space even though its larger than the pink chair 2) it doesn’t have wheels (I don’t like wheels on carpet) and 3) the backrest is more flexible :)!

3) Covered the front of my plastic drawers {free from my other college roommate} with pink paper {free from James}:

Before:

photo

photo1

After:

photo2

photo3

I love how covering the front of the drawers instantly makes that corner feel less cluttered.  Of course this is just a temporary solution.  I hope to get something like this to take its place one day:

photo

4) A change I made a while back (but never mentioned) was replacing a blank corner with a collage of my favorite magazine cutouts:

Before:

photo

After:

photo1

Can you spot the cutout of the Ikea lamp I mentioned earlier?  Hint: its on the right side ;)!

5) And most recently, I replaced my old desk lamp {free from my mom’s house; no idea where it was originally purchased from but I guess it doesn’t matter since its not that cute ;P} with a new one {from Urban Outfitters (on sale now!)}:

Before:

photo

photo1

photo2

After:

photo

photo1

photo2

Much better right?!

Even though a lot of progress has been made, I’m still not quite done completing all the ideas I have for my room.

I still need to:

– buy a small ottoman (preferably one with storage)

– buy a hanging wall file

– redecorate the wall in front of my bed

– buy proper storage for all my binders and magazines

– redecorate my accessory corner

Leave a Reply

