Uncategorized

2013

I haven’t been as eager to make my list of New Years Resolutions this year as previous years.  I think its because when I think of resolutions, I think of something that can be crossed off my to-do list once completed like remodeling a room or finishing a book.  My goals are mostly habits that I want to develop (just look at my 2012 goals), which requires repeated effort until the desired behavior becomes automatic.

So this year, instead of creating a list of resolutions and checking my progress at the end of the every month like I did last year, I came up with a handful of habits that I want to have by the end of 2013 (most were on last year’s list): eating breakfast, waking up early, reading the bible every day, going to the gym once a week, updating my digital photo album, drinking more water, bringing lunch 2-3 times a week, doing 8 minute abs every day and eating more fruits and veggies.  Each month I will focus on developing one of those habits.  I’m sure developing one habit will inevitably lead to the development of another (i.e. waking up early would give me more time to read the bible in the morning/eat breakfast/do 8 min abs).  But to keep myself from feeling overwhelmed, my energy and focus will be dedicated to one habit over all others in any given month.

I didn’t give this much thought before the new year started so I wasn’t sure which habit to focus on for the month of January.  But after listing out my desired habits, I realize that I’ve inadvertently been drinking a lot more water these past few days because I’m on the brink of a cold.  So I guess that’s what I’ll focus on this month – drinking half my weight in ounces of water per day.

If someone cornered me and really pressed for my “New Years Resolutions”, I’d probably say take the CFP exam and finish reading all of the New Testament.

Happy New Year :)!

One thought on “2013

Leave a Reply

