personal

Happy Friday?

“Happy Friday!”  is the catch phrase that fills the office, the elevator and the streets on Fridays.  It makes perfect sense.  Everyone who has an office job wants to celebrate the end of their work week and Fridays are typically everyone’s best day at the office.

But for me, Fridays have hardly ever been anything to look forward to.  In fact, it used to always be the worst day of the week for me.  At my old job, Fridays would be the day that I’d get the most amount of work so I would have to stay at the office later than usual.  Its a very sad feeling to be the only one left in an empty office on a Friday night.  And unless I made plans in advance to eat dinner with someone, I’d usually just skip dinner altogether on Fridays.  I guess subconsciously I feel like eating alone is worse than not eating at all because I really just don’t have an appetite on Friday nights.  Fridays are also the day that I pack (to go “home-home”) for the upcoming weekend, which can feel like a major chore after a long day/week.

Its only 10am and it has already been quite the stressful Friday for me.  I woke up at 7am and remembered that I have a 7:30am appointment to get an estimate for the damages on my car at a body shop.  I thought about how I could get ready in 10 minutes and still make it there on time.  But then I realized that I didn’t shower last night (which is rare for me).  I was about to forfeit showering until I remembered that I also went to the gym last night (gross, I know).  I gave myself 2 minutes to whine in my head about the long morning I was about to have and then I dragged myself out of bed.  By the time I was ready to go, it was already 7:30am so I called the shop to tell them I was going to be late.  Then a series of minor annoying events happened.  Like when I got to the elevator, I realized I forgot my cell phone so I had to go back and get it.  I hate it when that happens.  Then I missed the street that the body shop was on, TWICE.  It was such a small street!  Practically an alley!  I ended up coming to work 30 minutes late and when I got here, the first thing I heard was that my boss was unhappy about how I kept leaving my unwashed oatmeal bowl next to the sink.  Oops.

Even though I had a rough morning, I could not help but reflect on the several ways that God has blessed my Fridays this past year.  For instance at my new job, Fridays are usually quiet and I always get to leave on-time.  And since my homegroup meets on Friday nights, I almost never have to eat alone or sit at my apartment with nothing to do until traffic dies down.  I really couldn’t think of a better way to end my week than fellowshipping with my brothers and sisters in Christ.  Because of all the graduations today and tomorrow, there will be no homegroup meeting tonight.  But just the thought of it warms my heart and brings a smile to my face.  I guess I have been having Happy Fridays.  Or at least happier Fridays.

Since I didn’t make dinner plans with anyone, I’ll probably still skip dinner tonight and take a nap instead.  I’ve been really sleep deprived this week.

And now… my favorite Friday song:

2 thoughts on “Happy Friday?

Leave a Reply

